Our Audition Process

One component of gaining acceptance to the Professional Training Programs is completing an audition. Don't worry if you've never done this before - an actor with no experience but tons of raw talent has as good a chance of impressing us as anyone.
 
The requirements for auditions are:

  • If you are auditioning for the Professional Training Program, 2 contemporary, fully memorized, contrasting monologues are required.
  • If you applying for scholarship consideration for the Summer Acting Training Program, only 1 contemporary fully memorized monologue is required.
  • Each piece should be approximately 1 minute long.
  • All pieces must be legitimate source material (a published or produced piece from film, TV or theater).
  • All pieces must be age appropriate.
  • There are a number of ways to audition for the Conservatory:

  • On Campus: We hold on campus auditions every Monday and Friday at 1pm. What better way to see if NYCDA is for you than coming in for a visit!
  • Audition Tour: If you are unable to attend an on campus audition in NYC, come meet us on the road! We will be making over 50 stops across the country and abroad this season!
  • Online Submissions: We understand that not everyone can make it to New York City or to our Audition Tour cities to audition. If this is the case, we are happy to review online submissions via Hightail or Acceptd. Contact the admissions office regarding online submissions.
  • Click here to reserve your spot for On Campus or Tour auditions or simply call our admissions office at 888.645.0030 ext. 4080. We look forward to seeing you at your audition!



    Audition Tour Schedule
    AUDITION EVENT
    DATE
    TIMES
    Boston, MA Auditions
    Wednesday, September 25, 2013
    4-8pm
    Missoula, MT Auditions
    Saturday, September 28, 2013
    10am-4pm
    Washington, DC Auditions
    Sunday, September 29, 2013
    6-9pm
    Atlanta Auditions
    Wednesday, October 2, 2013
    4-8pm
    Seattle, WA Auditions
    Sunday, October 13, 2013
    10am-4pm
    Chicago, IL Auditions
    Sunday, October 13, 2013
    6-9pm
    Las Vegas, NV Auditions
    Sunday, October 20, 2013
    10am-4pm
    San Francisco, CA Auditions Sunday, October 27, 2013 5-8pm
    Louisville, KY Auditions Saturday, November 2, 2013 10am-4pm
    Memphis, TN Auditions Sunday, November 3, 2013 10am-4pm
    Toronto, Canada Auditions Saturday, November 9, 2013 10am-4pm
    Miami, FL Auditions Sunday, November 17, 2013 10am-4pm
    Phoenix, AZ Auditions Sunday, November 24, 2013 10am-4pm
    Detroit, MI Auditions Sunday, December 8, 2013 10am-2pm
    Denver, CO Auditions Sunday, December 8, 2013 10am-4pm
    Dallas, TX Auditions Saturday, December 14, 2013 10am-4pm
    Austin, TX Auditions Sunday, December 15, 2013 10am-4pm
    Kansas City, MO Auditions Sunday, January 12, 2014 10am-4pm
    New York, NY Auditions Sunday & Monday, January 25 & 26, 2014 12pm-8pm
    Chicago, IL Auditions Mon, Tues, & Wed, February 3,4 & 5 2014 10am-4pm
    Los Angeles, CA Auditions Saturday & Sunday, February 8 & 9, 2014 10am-4pm
    London, UK Auditions Saturday & Sunday, February 22 & 23, 2014 10am-4pm
    Boston, MA Auditions Saturday, March 1, 2014 10am-4pm
    Hartford, CT Auditions Sunday, March 2, 2014 10am-2pm
    Houston, TX Auditions Saturday, March 15, 2014 10am-4pm
    Denver, CO Auditions Sunday, March 16, 2014 10am-4pm
    UNC Greeley Auditions Sunday, March 16, 2014 10am-4pm
    Pittsburgh, PA Auditions Saturday, March 22, 2014 10am-4pm
    Washington, DC Auditions Saturday, March 22, 2014 10am-4pm
    Philadelphia, PA Auditions Sunday, March 23, 2014 10am-4pm
    Charleston, SC Auditions Saturday, March 29, 2014 10am-4pm
    Orlando, FL Auditions Sunday, March 30, 2014 10am-4pm
    Charlotte, NC Auditions Saturday, April 5, 2014 10am-4pm
    Atlanta, GA Auditions
    Sunday, April 6, 2014
    10am-4pm